ProGemini Consultancy Group

Study at the University of Law


The College of Law had been incorporated by royal charter as a charity in 1975, but in 2012, prior to the granting of university status, its educational and training business was split off and incorporated as a private limited company. This became The College of Law Limited and later The University of Law Limited. The college was granted degree-awarding powers in 2006, and in 2012 changed its name to The University of Law (ULaw) when it became the UK’s first for-profit educational institution to be granted university status.

The charitable branch, which remained incorporated by the 1975 royal charter, became the Legal Education Foundation. Shortly after the granting of university status and being renamed The University of Law in 2012, The College of Law Limited was bought by Montagu Private Equity. Three years later, Montagu sold the company to its present owner, the Netherlands-based company Global University Systems.

Quick Summary

  • Established: 2012
  • Students: 8,000 (2021)
  • Intl. Student Ratio: 35%
  • Location: Bloomsbury, London
  • Campus: Eight ( Birmingham, Bristol, Chester, Guildford, Leeds, London, Manchester, Nottingham)
  • TEF Ranking: Gold

University Details

Subjects Offered

The University of Law covers a broad range of subjects at foundation, Undergraduate and Postgraduate level. Find out more about what they offer and why it’s great to study at the University of Law.

  • LLB Law
  • LLB Law (Accelerated)
  • LLB Law with Criminology
  • LLB Law with Business
  • LLB Law with International Business
  • LLB Law with Government and Politics
  • LLB Law with Criminal Justice
  • LLB Law Senior Status
  • International Foundation Programme – Law
  • LLB Civil and English Law

University Campuses

We welcome students from all around the world to our 12 UK-based campuses and an international campus in Hong Kong and offer an extensive range of campus-based degrees and online degrees which are designed with both practical and professional skill development in mind. We offer 21st-century relevant law and business bachelor’s degrees, master’s degrees, graduate diplomas, and postgraduate diplomas where the majority of programs are taught by qualified and practised solicitors, barristers, judges and lawyers who all bring their own wealth of knowledge and experience into the classroom.

Also based in our London Bloomsbury campus is The University of Law Business School, which merges business experience and practice with academia and theory through customized, experiential and interactive learning. As of 2019, courses will be offered at The University of Law campuses in Birmingham, Leeds and Manchester.

  • Birmingham Campus 133 Great Hampton Street, Birmingham, B18 6AQ
  • Bristol Campus Temple CircusTemple Way, Bristol, BS1 6HG
  • Chester Campus Christleton Hall, Pepper Street, Chester, Christleton, CH3 7AB
  • Guildford Campus St Catherines, Portsmouth Road, Guildford, Surrey, GU3 1HA
  • Leeds Campus 15-16 Park Row, Leeds, LS1 5HD
  • London Campus 14 Store Street, London, WC1E 7DE & 2 Bunhill Row, London, EC1Y 8HQ
  • Manchester Campus 2 New York Street, Manchester, M1 4HJ
  • Nottingham Campus 1 Royal Standard Place, Nottingham, NG1 6FS